Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

Online classes are a new trend that has been offered by some universities in the last couple of decades to help students who can study on the internet. This essay will discuss the reasons why this trend can be considered both a positive and a negative fact.

Universities have been offering courses on the internet for years now, and it must be considered a fundamental and helpful opportunity for many students all over the world. Not only having access online to lessons and studying materials is practical and fast, but also it allows many full time working students or for example single moms to stay on track with their studying careers. The positive side of this trend grows even more if we consider that using the internet, students from all over the world can enroll and graduate from a university abroad.

Nevertheless, the possibility of studying online has its downsides: for example, procrastinators could feel less pressure to attend an online course as they would with frontal lessons, leading to more waste of time. The chance to adjust one's personal schedule in order to include the attendance to online classes might lead students to stay behind fellow colleagues. Another point often overlooked is the possibility of direct interaction with the professors, since during frontal lessons they are available to help and clarify any doubt one might have. When attending an online university, the student does not have this chance and instead this could lead to feeling abandoned over time.

To sum up, this new trend that universities are adopting has a number of positive upsides, being that it facilitates some lives. Downsides, though, should not be overlooked, as they all could be the reason why the rate of online students dropping up of universities is rising.