Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today refers to whether schools' teachers should not give homework to complete at home, or if children get a better education when they have such responsibility. Both sides of the argument have benefits and drawbacks that I will discuss in greater detail in my essay.

Parents who believe that homework is only a burden for their kids, probably take into consideration the long hours that children spend at school. In fact, most schools have long-day programmes, with lessons starting at 7 or 8 in the morning, and ending at 4 in the afternoon. This way, scholars usually get back home mentally exhausted, and the perspective of completing homework is not appealing. But this is not the only reason why homework should be abolished. Because kids have these few hours in the afternoon after school, all the extracurricular activities are concentrated during that period. Swimming lessons or piano lessons, for instance, are very popular among children, but take away the rest of the afternoon. If teachers stopped giving assignments, kids would have more free time to invest in other activities.

On the other hand, homework hold a great importance, because they ensure that children's engagement in school is maintained. If it is true that most of the learning is done in classrooms, during lectures and lessons, having to complete an assignment at home, such as math's problems or an history essays, helps to keep the mind engaged on the subject. Furthermore, completing homework is a matter of responsibility and accountability. Since teachers expect their scholars to finalize their assignments before the given deadlines, students may feel the pressure of not letting them down and being penalized.

To conclude, I believe that it is important to give homework to complete at home, since it also helps to find a studying method that will be useful in the academic future. The responsibility that comes from having deadlines to meet is a crucial feature of every kid and adult. In my opinion, though, the amount of homework could be reduced, especially during holiday breaks, to ensure the right amount of recreational and studying time.