“Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences”. Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

In recent years, computers are being used more and more in schools and colleges. They have given a lot of benefits both for teachers and students. Teachers easily prepare lessons and students quickly access to many reference materials. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

There is no denial that computer has provided students with access to more information than ever before. With the help of computers, students can get the information that they require easily. When computers are connected to the Internet, wider range of reading materials, audios, videos and additional learning materials can easily be accessed, which supports them a lot in their study process. For example, students can refer to the Internet whenever their teachers give them projects. It is easier when they can refer an article which have the information that they need. Their assignment with be completed as simple and as fast as possible.

It is worth noting that computers can change the way of society funtions for students. Teenagers will need to compete with the growing trends of a technological society that relies on computers to perform daily task. If students learn the processing skills and how to navigate computers, they will be prepared later in life to utilize computers for more complex assignment. For example, students are force to learn the anatomy of a computer so they can use it for studies. With this, students can be improved by learning the complexity of it.

However, many people have opposing views. They argue that computer is leading to negative consequences. It is said that computers affect students’s creativity and stop them to think innovatively. In computers, there are so many games which make students addictive to play. Sometimes, students simply download materials from the Internet directly without understanding them. Too much exposure to the computer and internet games causes mental stress, and as a result, students cannot concentrate on their studies. This definitely leads to lower grades.

Viewed from different angles, I think to bring a good learning result, students need to know the right methods to exploit the benefits of computers. Computers will be really helpful if students know how to control their learning activities, they need to recognize the good and the bad to avoid overusing the Internet. If the quality and quantity of computer education are rightly balanced, it is sure that the negative consequences can be minimised and positive impacts can be maximised.