In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Many people claim that the size of family, and the roles of family members among husbands and wives have been changed significantly in recent years. From my point of view, while family formation patterns are changing in some ways, they have both positive and negative sides that are worth discussing.

According to the newest statistics, the birth rate of families is tending to decrease. There are three main factors that lead to this situation. The first one is due to modern advances in medicine, which not only help reduce infant mortality, improve their health, but also contribute to making it easier for parents to choose the sex of their children. Financial pressure is the second reason for their choice to have fewer children. The fewer members, the less pressure on spending and less burden on those who have to work to support their families. The last one is that the mothers are now more inclined to go out to work than to stay at home and become a housewife. The above reasons also influence the change in the preference of many people to live in a nuclear family rather than an extended family.

Another factor to consider is that there are an increasing number of children living in sole-parent families due to the high divorce rate, not to mention the considerable number of sing-mom families who want to have children without being married. Unhappy married life, past traumas lead them to distrust in family happiness. As a result, they choose to be single parents, take care of their children and live a freer life. The number of single parents continues to increase, sometimes, they choose to be single not because they have an unhappy past but because of their hobbies and because they see it as a trend.

As I said at the beginning, today's women tend to go out to work and fulfill their own passions rather than becoming a responsible housewife of their family. We are living in a modern society that strives to promote gender equality. There are more and more policies to support, encourage and create the best conditions for women to have equal opportunities in study, work and all other activities in society. In other words, the roles of family members among husbands and wives have been also changed, women have also become breadwinners along with their husbands as they are financially independent.

Personally speaking, I strongly believe that these changes have both advantages and disadvantages. The changes in the roles of family members could be seen as valuable progress as many men are not put under pressure of covering the needs of the entire families, and women do not have to sacrifice their jobs in order to look after children and assume all of houseworks. Moreover, being a single parent, they can lead a freer life, less arguments, they can go anywhere and do whatever they like without being bothered by anyone. However, without the assistance of their partners, many single parents might face financial difficulty. As a result, their children are more likely to drop out of schools because they find it difficult to afford high tuition fees. In addition, many children might suffer a lack of parental guidance and love since busy parents have less contract with them.

Taking everything into consideration, along with the development of society, the structure of families and family roles are also constantly changing. Everything has two sides of it, besides the positive side, there are negative aspects. Therefore, both benefits and drawbacks of these family changes do exist at the same time.