Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

After the generation X, there are countless products that change the world surprisingly. However, some people assume that computers are the indispensable invention, which creates the brand-new word dramatically, in the last century. Personally, I partially agree with this statement.

On the one hand, I agree that computers have become a vital part of people’s lives. In actual fact, thanks to this product, life is far easier. Firstly, computers help us to storage lots of information that we are not able to keep them all in human memory. Secondly, it creates opportunities not only to solve the math riddles fast or the calculation in our jobs but also to handle many issues in jobs. For instance, Excel and Pascal enable us to deal with/solve all kinds of complex calculation we simply input data and equations, they will give us the result with high accuracy just by a click of the mouse. Word helps us in typing and formatting letters, images, and graphs… in various well-organized forms. Last but not least, modern computers allow you to entertain, relax in diverse ways like playing games, surfing the web, etc.

On the other hand, I disagree with the mentioned statement. I personally think that some gadgets are also useful and playing incredible roles in society. Television will be the first example. Thanks to this invention, people can catch up with the latest news, keep themselves updated and entertain in their free time by watching films or plays. Telephones, smartphones and mobile phones are very crucial and essential in our lives as well. These inventions, which invented in generation X and recent years, allow us to communicate to our relations and acquaintances with a long distance and it helps us overcome the geographic barrier. Finally, Internet is very necessary to daily life. We can surf web, chatting with friends, etc. thanks to Internet. Furthermore, it provides us with a variety of materials for free and gives many solutions to handle problems by a click of the mouse.

In summary, some people think that computers are the most important invention in the last century. I strongly believe that there are many other devices which are considered changing and making the world much more convenient and modernized.