Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Environment has become the hot topic for the recent years and pollution has been threatening our planet also our daily lives. In order to prevent our earth from being contaminated, some people assume that just only governments, authorities and famous companies can solve the problems and individuals are incapable of saving the environment. Personally, I partly disagree with this statement.

On the one hand, I agree that governments and gigantic firms, even authorities can change the situation. In actual fact, for the firms, they can protect the Earth by reduce the amount of toxic gases which cause the global warming and greenhouse effect such as methane, carbon dioxide, etc. or the waste. Furthermore, factories should be equipped the waste solving system in order to prevent pollution. Governments and authorities play a significant role in making the difference. For instance, they need to implement new policies and strict laws to save the environment, planting trees, designating large areas for forest.

On the other hand, I disagree with the statements that people can not do anything to protect the Earth.

In actual fact, all of us can prevent our planet form pollution. Individuals should do some simple activities like put the litter into the waste basket, do not littering, sort the kinds of garbage, reuse, reduce and recycle the plastic, metal and glass wastes. Although these activities are easy to do and some people think they are useless, these ones affect strongly to our lives. Human beings are going to be extinct if we keep littering and polluting the environment.

In summary, I disagree partly with the mentioned statement and I believe that all of us are capable of doing many great and meaningful things in order to keep our Earth being clean. Saving the environment means saving our lives.