In comtemporary society, everyone should have equal opportunities in education. Therefore, universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Opportunities for education should be equally distributed to everyone in the society nowadays. Hence, universities should offer equal amount of slots for both genders in every subject. In my opinion,  I disagree with this as although this method does help one gender from competing in certain sectors, there is one lethal shortcoming for this particular way.

On the one hand, owing to the physiological differences between males and females, females are arguably disadvantaged when they study certain subjects which require complex arithmetic calculations, for instance mathematics and physics. At the moment, there are some subjects which are particularly advantaged by the males regardless of how hard the females are working for. However, by implementing equal slots for both genders in every subject, females are no longer required to compete with males, hence they are more likely to study their favourite subjects which were previously overwhelmed by males.

Despite this benefit, one issue could be led by this implementation of equality is that the competitions between one gender in one subject will become direr than before. For instance, males who are originally capable of studying one subject will be excluded in order to provide the slots for females although her academic eligibility is worse than his, this issue can happen vice versa. This is to say, even though one's result is much better than another one, but, due to the offers are given equally to both genders, they may not stand a chance to continue their academic career since slots are occupied by the other gender.

In conclusion, while this method is a good attempt for helping disadvantaged groups by providing equal offers in the educational aspect, its drawbacks show another aspect of inequality. Based on this, I don't think this is an appropriate implementation to put into practice.