consequences of plastic bags and the solutions

These days, it is a well-established fact that plastic carrier bags are becoming prevalent by virtue of their convenience and availability. However, excessive consumption of this kind of container has presumably inflicted damage on environmental aspects. In this essay, I will highlight the negative effect of this phenomenon and propose some plausible remedies.

To begin with, the increase in the number of shopper bags significantly harms the environment. First of all, it causes contamination. That is because these products are often difficult and need prohibitive prices to be recycled or dealt with; hence, they mostly end up on dedicated sites where they take around 300 years to photodegrade. Gradually, they break down into tiny toxic particles contaminating the soil and waterways. As a result, the polluted water may pose a threat to the living habitat of marine creatures and the drinking source of terrestrial animals. Besides, the ecosystem is also badly disrupted. Animals often confuse the bags for food and consume them, therefore blocking their digestive processes. Other species often are often trapped in plastic bags, which can cause choking, laceration, and reduced reproductive success. For example, there were instances where endangered turtles were found to have suffocated because of the mistaken swallowing of plastic bags in 2003.

To tackle this pressing issue, some measures should be taken into account. To commence with, governments ought to propaganda widespread the use of biodegradable products. Instead of using nylon or poly, eco-friendly and durable materials such as paper or fabric had better be considered because they can reduce the amount of plastic waste generated. To illustrate, Vietnam has invented plant-based boxes, which are completely dissolvable. Additionally, from an educational perspective, schools should take proactive steps to raise students' awareness about the use of plastic packaging. They can integrate it with the lectures or organize realia related to the issue. Only then can the pupils understand deeply the problem.

To sum up, the unprecedented increase in plastic carriers in the modern era has brought a lot of consequences to the environment and humans. However, i am utterly convinced that with the steps i offer, the problem can be alleviated.