Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advertisements are a way to convince people to consume a product. As with growing competitions among companies, consumers are the one who suffered the consequences of excess advertisements. I think Consumers are motivated from the advertisements to consume the product and should be protected by regulating the advertisements and

Firstly, The advertisements should be regulated by an authority or the government itself. The companies should be restricted by 2 advertisements a year, which could only be viewed by consumers 10 times a day and the companies should be penalised if they do not comply with the regulations. It would prevent companies from fighting over the advertisements, and would give a fair chance to each and every company to put their advertisements in front of the consumer. Moreover, It would also prevent the consumer to be influenced from the advertisements and would rather allow him to use critical thinking in choosing a product from advertisements.

Secondly, For companies competing over advertisements should be boycott from the consumers. It would allow companies to realize their mistakes and make them vigilant before taking similar steps and action in future. One of it's prime example can be the incident of coca cola in 2005, where a number of people boycott the drink on the actions of the company which later was apologized by the company as It effected their revenue.

In conclusion, Companies should be restricted by a regulation authority with limited number of advertisements and Consumers should also raise their voice and boycott the company, which make the company realize their mistakes and their consumers concerns.