.Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

It is obviously true that people today are heavily surrounded by tons of commercials in daily life, which would cause a lot of annoyance and inconvenience. In this essay, I will analyze this phenomenon and suggest several effective solutions to the problem.

Being target audience, consumers are usually swayed by advertisements in many ways, having negative impacts on their decision to buy goods. First of all, as a part of the advertising campaigns, competing businesses tend to bombard our life with ads in diverse forms to build brand awareness. It is not difficult to come across an online commercial while enjoying TV programs or a billboard while walking on the street, which, unfortunately, has adverse impacts on the public by triggering distraction. Secondly, a huge amount of commercials lures people to purchase impulsively, especially vulnerable and young buyers, by their marketing tricks. For example, many advertising groups now invest a big sum of money for celebrity endorsement to associating their products or brand with positive impressions, such as beauty, strength and luxury. Finally, there are several companies which only focus on their revenue but not commodities’ quality. As a result, they promote their products with exaggerating information and deceive purchasers to buy low-quality goods

Since such issues are serious, the government and individuals should take urgent actions to address these problems. On the one hand, the public themselves have to be wise consumers and always take real needs into account as well as consider detailed information carefully before actually pay for something. Moreover, the government must also make efforts to protect buyers. For example, they can impose strict censorship on advertising or ban commercials that are false or mainly attempt at children.

In conclusion, there are various negative consequences of advertising and appropriate steps need to be taken to tackle these problems.