Countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.Do you think this is a positive development or a negative development?

Globalization is an existing phenomenon that has been steadily increasing over the last one decade. People are becoming consumers of goods from global companies, following trends and sharing similar habits. I believe that this tendency is a negative development and I will develop my arguments.

Firstly, regarding their national identity, people are becoming identical, forgetting their roots and their culture. Citizen of the same world does not mean that people have to follow the same trends and buy the same things. For example, having much the same music preferences or eating the same food worldwide, can lead to an immense lack of their traditions and habits that identify them as a nation. This could be catastrophic for the world’s diversity, something that also evolution implies on.

Additionally, a high degree of similarity between people who use to buy same products anywhere in the world can have a negative impact on their interpersonal relationships. When someone owns common things and consumes similar goods with many others, can possibly become more competitive, causing imbalances in society and more often conflict with their fellow citizens. This kind of issue can unsettle the current balance and result abnormalities to humans’ relationships.

To conclude, although it is widely accepted to follow the same trends and buy similar products, no matter where you live in the world, I believe that this propensity has more negative than positive implications. The trend of consuming the same products may result in irretrievable loss of a person’s national identity and affect their relationships.