Countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development ?

In the era of ever-advancing technology, globalization has been more highly appreciated than ever before, making the idea of importing food from around the world prominent among a great deal of sellers and consumers. Although the idea appears to be remarkably profitable, there are a number of underlying downsides that must be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, importing food from other nations around the globe would be a beneficial development in a variety of aspects. First, this action would play a crucial role in enhancing consumers’ nutritional diet. More specifically, market-goers across the globe can have access to a wider range of fruits from other nations, thereby expanding their choice of products. This trend, as a result, would act as a remedy for those who struggle to cope with the cuisine of their home country.

On the other hand, the act of selling food from other regions would also bring about looming adversities to the country’s economy. By this, I mean in order to transport food from one place to another, a company is required to pay for shipping fee as well as the fee to keep the food at the desired temperature. As a result, consumers from foreign countries are then charged with a much higher cost compared to( in comparison with) the original price. Being left with two options, whether to buy a foreign product which costs much higher than it actually is or to buy local food that cost less and still tastes good, chances are that market-goers would show interest in the latter. Moreover, different nations nationwide pride themselves on their cultural cuisine, if the act of food-importing is promoted, chances are that countries would lose their sense of originality. This does not only undermine the nation’s core values but also appears as a threat to its tourism system.

In the light of the aforementioned discussion, much as I agree that food importing is totally beneficial in terms of consumers’ nutritional diet, I believe it can not outweigh the economic drawback as well as the demise of cultural individuality that are entitled to this movement.