Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizens any more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary world, economic growth is vital in any country. Some people believe that any increase in wealth of a rich country cannot satisfy its people while others counter it. In my perspective, I mostly agree with the idea that extra adds in economic cannot please its inhabitants.

First of all, it is true that economic growth will financially benefit the citizens. However, being more wealthy does not mean people would be happier. The more they gain, the more expensive the goods are. Some people may be richer than the people in developing countries but they still are poor in a country that has a sky-high cost of living. Besides, some people use the extra money they gained to spend on gambling or risky business. Eventually, some of them become richer, others may lose the invested money, which makes them not satisfied at all.

In addition to pleasing its citizens, some countries shift their main priority from economic development to social well-being or social welfare to be able to create a happy country. For instance, many North European citizens are happy because the government offers these people the best social welfare and education in the world. Besides, the economic gap between the people with high social status and normal people is small so that they are more balanced in social position. Everyone is treated equally as others, the richer receive the same treat as the less wealthy ones.

For all the aforementioned reasons, a developed country does not have to focus much on the nation’s economic development. They would rather focus on social well-being to make their citizens the happiest.