Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas.

Why do you think that is?

What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

In recent years, the fact that crime rate in metropolitan areas is higher than that of the rural ones has been receiving a lot of public attention. Although this issue can be attributed to a whole host of reasons, some feasible solutions can be utilized to tackle this problem.

There are a variety of factors contributing to increased crime rate in cities. First, since these areas are always more ethnic diverse compared to the countryside, the likelihood of conflicts leading to crimes is significantly higher. For example, racism against people of color still exists, which leads to crimes, from small fights to bloody conflicts. Second, since urban areas are densely populated, citizens have to compete for limited opportunities and scarce resources. This means that people of disadvantageous positions in society have a higher tendency to commit even the pettiest of crimes, just to make a living.

Nevertheless, there are still workable solutions to address this conundrum. First, by extinguishing racism with heavy fines and stricter punishments, the government can keep interracial conflicts in check. In fact, many countries around the globe have already treated racism with an iron grip, imposing laws against racial discrimination which positively effect public order as a whole. Second, the government should enact policies which divert the population flow away from the cities. This means that if the authority invests more in the suburb or the countryside, more people with flock into these areas to make a living in lieu of the urban ones, which relieve the population burden upon the metropolises.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the ever-increasing crime rate in urban areas due to their overpopulation, feasible solutions are in order. The government holds the key to alleviate the population burdens, which in turn will lower crime rate to a manageable level.