The current trend in education is to move away from traditional exams and instead have a continuous assessment over the school year.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

You should write an essay of at least 250 words

The continuous evaluation supplanting conventional exams has been captured by significant public attention in recent years due to its implication on educational development. I totally agree that this pattern should be more and more prevalent among school years.

Regular assessments could give several benefits to learners. Firstly, despite pressure growth, it is undeniable that the increase of monthly or weekly tests could maintain students constantly in the study process, leading to an improved level of academic knowledge, which greatly contributes to their occupational prospects. In fact, with conventional evaluation, students always procrastinate their learning only until a week before midterm and final exams, which is considered to decrease their academic performances and promote their idleness. Secondly, pupils would feel more equitable when their final scores are evaluated on their determination through incessant examinations instead of two tests during a semester. For instance, in Vietnam, many Vietnamese students feel unfair on traditional tests which are based much on luck when the scores of individuals learning only a lesson likely to be asked about are the same as those who cram all of the lessons, reducing fairness in education.

Additionally, teachers could receive many advantages of continuous examinations. Initially, by monitoring student test results, professors can easily identify drawbacks and mistakes made by most students. Therefore, teachers can adjust their teaching methods, making it easier for students to comprehend. Moreover, since the scores are not based on just one or two tests, it is possible for teachers to measure the actual capabilities of students through constant examinations. Consequently, teachers could encourage students who lack of attempt at learning to get academic betterment, enhancing the study quality of the whole class. Finally, to create continuous assessments, teachers have to also prepare test questions continuously. This would help teachers to deepen their knowledge, thereby teaching students deeper about the lessons, reinforcing students' academic comprehension.

In conclusion, continuous assessment becomes a trend because this brings progressive influences to education. Also, there are the learners' and teachers’ responsibilities to take these advantages of this kind of evaluation for their best educational results.