Proponents of animal testing say that it has enabled the development of many life-saving treatments for both humans and animals, that there is no alternative method for researching a complete living organism, and that strict regulations prevent the mistreatment of animals in laboratories.

Firstly, proponents of animal testing say that it has enabled the development of many life-saving treatments for both humans and animals. That point is true, however, animal testing could be fraught with pitfalls. For example, the sleeping pill thalidomide in the 1950s made 10,000 infants have serious malformations, although it was tested on animals before officially publishing. It means that some types of medicinal ingredients that animals can absorb could have negative consequences on the human body and vice versa, which proves that testing on animals successfully does not ensure human safety, making us more subjective about potential problems. As a result, animal experiments would be in vain.

Secondly, people inclining to support animal testing emphasize that there is no alternative method for researching a complete living organism because it could be easily seen the results of a medicinal method which impacts on a whole living body with complex internal organ systems. This view seems persuasive at first, but based on scientific and technical advancements nowadays, humans do not need a complete living organism to prove whether that medical treatment works positively on humans and animals or not. Research has shown that, by testing on genetic or visceral samples using biotechnology and with computers, scientists completely indicate the potential success and risk of medicine. In fact, it is actually more economical to test on liver or lung samples than on animals according to Humane Society International, reducing the prodigal national budget. Therefore, testing on animals is not necessary.

Finally, advocates of animal experiments claim that establishing strict regulations could prevent the mistreatment of animals in laboratories. However, experimental activities would bring pain to animals, that those strict regulations do not reduce the pain they are forced to experience, which are still considered as animal mistreatment. The animals also have emotions and have the right to choose to live naturally as humans. Therefore, the use of animals for research purposes should be minimized as much as possible or considered carefully before any implementation. Instead, researchers can call for human volunteering to test medicines with financial and health benefits such as salary or free medical treatment for life, increasing the morality for animals.