Cycling is more environmentally friendly than other forms of transport. Why is it not popular in many places? And how to increase its popularity?

It is widely argued that cycling is more environmentally friendly in comparison with other means of transportation, but it is not popular in many places. There are several factors leading to this and some feasible measures should be taken to improve the usage of bicycles.

To begin with, there are some reasons why people prefer using other motor vehicles such as cars or motorcycles. Firstly, compared to other means of transportation, cycling is physically demanding, especially in the long distance. For example, not many people choose to travel by bicycles in tropical countries where the weather is very hot and humid. In addition, nowadays people have a hectic lifestyle and consequently they try to save time as much as possible. With faster speed, cars and motorcycles are more efficient to travel than bicycles.

However, some actions could be used to solve this problem. The first solution would be to apply a higher tax on motor vehicles. People will be reluctant to use cars or motorcycles if they have to pay a considerable amount of money for using these vehicles. As a result, they will gradually switch to bicycles which are much more affordable. Secondly, improving the infrastructure for cycling can help people use bicycles more efficiently as well as improve the safety of cycling. For example, the government should build more new roads which are only used for bicycles.

In conclusion, cycling is not popular in many places because of some reasons and solutions should be produced soon to tackle this issue.