Cyclists and car drivers sharing the same road might cause some problems. What are the problems? What could be done to solve those problems?

Nowadays, it is common to see cars and bicycles traveling on the same road. This may result in a number of undesirable consequences, which could be addressed by several approaches explained below.

There are some negative impacts for car drivers and bikers who share the same roadway while traveling. Firstly, the possibility of an accident between a car and a bicycle is much higher than when they have their own road, and in the case of accidents, the mortality rate could also be greater. In fact, heavy vehicles, such as cars or trucks, frequently run very fast. As a consequence, they may threaten people when colliding with bikes, which is far more serious than accidents on the street involving only bikes. Secondly, people driving cars could have some obstacles if they shared the road with bicyclists. For instance, instead of running as fast as possible to an appointment that they are about to be late for, car drivers may have to slow down and wait for a number of commuters ahead riding a bike at their average speed. For instance, instead of running as fast as possible to people's companies that they are about to be late for, car drivers may have to slow down and wait for some bikers ahead who are riding a bike at their slow speed.

There are several measures to tackle this problem. The first method is to limit the speed of automobile vehicles to 40 km per hour on roads that allow both cars and bicycles. In particular, while running at such a low speed, drivers can better control their vehicle as well as dodge others, and even in unfortunate situations, the damage would be less serious. Additionally, the government should build separate lanes for these two vehicles so that their different speeds will not interfere with each other while in traffic. For example, thanks to the good policies of the Tokyo Traffic Department in Japan, cars and bikes are able to travel in two separate ways, so they can run at their desired speed without affecting one another.

In conclusion, when cyclists and automobile drivers share the same road, some demerits appear. However, two possible methods have been proposed to solve these issues.