Demand for food is increasing worldwide.

What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

Food plays a vital role in the develop of humans. Nowadays, the demand for food is on the rise and it caused by two main factors – the ever-expanding population and extreme changes in climate conditions. This is a global problem and we should find a solution to solve this issue.

The growing demand for food is the result of the ongoing population boom, which expected to reach approximately ten billion in 2050. Unfortunately, food production has not been keeping pace with this due to numerous reasons, such as climate change, the decline of agricultural land, and backward farming methods. Because of strongly dependent on weather, climate change makes a decrease in product yield. So, there might be a critical global food shortage.

However, this situation could be remedied by the expansion of the farmland and by using improved farming techniques. For instance, yield can be increased by using quality fertilizers, by developing vertical farming or by applying the new method for the production process. The government should have some solutions to support farmers. The global community needs to step in as well. Countries, where food is surplus, must show the willingness to export it to the poor countries at a reasonable price or free if it is possible. We need measures to cut population growth and limit the impact of climate change. We have to raise awareness of people for this.

In conclusion, besides implementing measures to reduce population growth and the effects of climate change, we need to work together to resolve the food crisis.