Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

The consumption of food, which the survival of humankind relies heavily on it, has increased in all parts of the world. There are some reasons behind this. there are also a number of measures we can take.

The foremost causes of the increased demand for food are rapid population growth and consumerism. During the last century, the world’s population tripled, increasing from less than 2 billion people in 1900 to over 7 billion in 2015. This ever-increasing population needs food to live, leading to a relentless demand for food. Furthermore, what exacerbates the situation is consumerism, adding an extra burden to the already overused sources of food. Having changed their lifestyles, people, nowadays, tend to over-consume foods. Due to the luxuries of modern life and the more affordable prices of food, the amount of food consumption by contemporary families has increased significantly. One hundred years ago, for example, a family used to eat one or two different types of food for a meal whereas a family, nowadays, enjoys a variety of different foods just for a single meal.

However, there are various steps that can be taken to lessen the demand. One potential solution to address it would be to find news sources of food supply. Insects and artificial meat, inexpensive sources, can serve as new sources, in the near future. what can be considered as another feasible solution is to find more efficient methods to utilize the current supplies.A genetically modified plant, for example, can produce twice as much food as a normal plant. Moreover, policymakers, all around the world should initiate campaigns that raise people’s awareness about the significance of food, which can contribute to decreasing food leftovers.

All things considered, the rise in the demand for food can be attributed to fast population growth and consumerism. This demand can be fulfilled by investment in finding new sources of food, better use of current food sources and publicizing the importance of eating habits in reducing the demand.