Differences between countries become less evident each year. Nowadays all over the world, people share the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits, and TV channels. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the world is becoming a global village because of the global reach of the same fashions, advertising, brands, eating habits and TV channels. I believe that this trend has both positive and negative consequences.

Globalization can be seen as a positive development because it makes everything possible and accessible. Nowadays, the improvement in communication technologies has increased and facilitated the cultural and language interchange between various countries. As a result, many people can gain whatever they want from different parts of the world. With global advancements in technology, many companies can keep individuals informed of their products and brands through various kinds of media, such as social networks and TV channels. They have this facility to export their commodities on the world stage, which not only has helped the companies to progress and increase their profit worldwide but also only has given foreign people an opportunity to use some international products with high quality. This trend is also true for other items, including fashions and eating habits. For example, by searching the Internet, people can have access to the recipes of multinational healthy food in order to have more options to eat a balanced diet. Additionally, they can even follow the latest fashion trends shown on Instagram, TV channels and magazines to keep up with their foreign counterparts.

However, this development might one day devalue the traditional customs of a nation. Global access to fashions and brands can discourage individuals to buy the local products of their country. This condition can put native craftsmen out of work which is not a positive outcome for a country. Also, by following international eating habits, many individuals might be disillusioned to eat their local cuisine. This situation can cause such traditional food items to be forgotten after a while and the future generation will become deprived of them. Moreover, globalization can easily void the opportunity of countries for economic growth through tourism, as the same things are available around the globe.

In conclusion, in my view, the disappearance of differences between the countries due to the global access to the same fashions, advertisements, brands, eating habits and TV channels can have both advantages and disadvantages.