Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of media

With the tremendous development of modern technology, people are surrounded by a media-rich society. Some people think that living in such a society brings us numerous benefits while others argue that it can exert negative impacts on us.

People cannot deny the disadvantages of social media. The most common criticism is that people have a tendency to lead a sedentary lifestyle. This is because they prefer watching their favorite films or lying at home rather than hanging out with friends. Clearly, this behavior results in several illnesses such as obesity, or anxiety. Furthermore, fake news is becoming widespread on most social platforms, which makes people susceptible to mislead with incorrect information.

However, there are several obvious advantages that we can gain from social media. Firstly, it can stay in touch between humans regardless of geographical distance. Thanks to the availability of social networking sites, namely Facebook or Zalo, we can keep updated with the latest information about family members or relatives who are staying away from us globally. Another positive aspect of living in society invaded by social media is to assist our learning objective. A large number of people are utilizing social media to complete assignments required to be done or seek materials related to studies, especially in the period of the outbreak of the Covid-19 pandemic.

In conclusion, although there are some clear drawbacks to living in a media-rich society, enhancing communication and learning has improved our lives. In my opinion, the drawbacks of living in such a society are overshadowed by its benefits.