Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using facebook as a means of online instruction. You may compare with other tools like zoom etc. Relevant examples of your own experience can be included.

2020 is a turbulent year due to the outbreak of the covid 19 pandemic . Many college and universities are forced to close to quarantine and prevent the spread of disease. Therefore, online learning is the first choice to ensure uninterrupted learning. Facebook as a means of online instruction that has both pros and cons.

It is undeniable that facebook is a great instruction to learn online. Firstly, most students participate in the social network facebook. Thus, it is easy for teachers to teach online by inviting them to join the group. Students absolutely can not miss any information on it because facebook always sends notifications to users whenever there is new information. Secondly, we are completely proactive in choosing time to study. Some students do not always have free time, they are quite busy with helping their families. Hence, using facebook ia an extremely convenient way for them to access and view documents and assignments that teachers have shared whenever they are free . Last but not least, it is a great chance for me to gain knowledge, experience and expand my vocabulary through reading the essay or the comments my peers posted on it.

On the other hand, we can observe that facebook also brings some drawbacks. Initially, facebook was used as an entertainment tool, not a learning tool. Thus, students are completely easy to be dominated and distracted by attractive videos and fascinating messages from friends. Moreover, teachers also like to use other tools like zoom, google meet to increase interactive with students through online calls.Furthermore, security is also a concern because important information in the group is easily stolen if the security system is not guaranteed.

To draw the conclusion, one can say that facebook is a powerful tool to support online learning. However, it is also a double-edged sword if we overuse it.