Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society.

Describe advantages and disadvantages of death penalty

In contemporary society, the use of death penalty to punish people who commit murder, violence, etc. is a controversial issue. Some support death penalty for violent offenders. Others say that punishment is inherently unacceptable in contemporary society.

On the one hand, the death penalty is the highest sanction in the penalty frame. It is the appropriate punishment for violent offenders to return justice to the victim and uphold justice. In addition, it also shows the legal deterrence to society, preventing and eliminating crimes, reducing crime rates and acts of violence to a minimum. Moreover, the death penalty can guarantee that crimes or extremely dangerous members will never have the opportunity to cause any more crimes against humanity, contributing to maintaining order and safe for society.

On the other hand, the death penalty is not really a right punishment. Firstly, it is a terrible and barbaric punishment for robbing a human of his life and right to life. No matter how sinful the person is, we cannot take their lives, as an indirect way of killing, because everyone has the right to life. Second, if a person were executed, he would never have the opportunity to repent and correct his mistakes. Besides, relatives of the offender will also suffer the pain of losing loved ones.

In conclusion, maintaining or abolishing the death penalty remains a controversial question. However, after the advantages and disadvantages stated. I think we should consider it carefully before giving the death penalty to any criminal because in addition to the punishment of the law, we need to promote education and humanity.