Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using facebook as a means of online instruction. You may compare with other tools like zoom etc. Relevant examples of your own experience can be included.

2020 is started with the coronavirus pandemic. People is under quarantine to avoid social gathering and limit the risk to be infected with the virus, therefore, the government decide to carry out school closure. As a student, I maintain my study with online learning on many learning apps such as zoom, google meet, google docs, etc. and also on social media such as Facebook, etc. Using Facebook as an online instruction brings me both of advantages and disadvantages.

I can derive some benefits from learning online on Facebook. First of all, learning time is flexible. I do not need to learn one lesson in a period of time or follow the schedule like I do when I have a class on zoom or google meet. Because I can only concentrate on something in a short period of time, using Facebook as a learning tool is fit with my habit. Moreover, beside learning the lesson, I can learn how to manage time to do the lesson exercise and practise my self-consciousness in studying. Besides, I can contact to teachers or to my friends immediately when using social media especially Facebook instead of sending email or waiting for zoom schedule. When I study in zoom or google meet, my friends do not share their own ideas with teacher, however, when we learn on Facebook, I can realize that they talk much. So I think, Facebook is a great connection between teachers and students.

However, there are also some drawbacks when I use Facebook as an online learning tool. Firstly, I can easily give in to temptation to find interesting things in my new feed and forget the exercises. Another problem is that I cannot hear the instruction or the lessons explanation from the teacher, so it is little difficult for me to understand some hard topics. The main reason is that I can understand something easier when I can hear about it. Moreover, in a day, it is easy to lose notification when lectures update lots of lessons or exercises. Finally disadvantage is my habit. I usually log out facebook or turn off wifi so I cannot receive the notification immediately. If lecture give me some quick require, I cannot do it. I gradually quit this habit so it is not a big problem now.

Using Facebook as a tool for learning online can affect me in both sides: advantage and disadvantage. However, the disadvantages is not serious and I can avoid it to improve myself. For me, Facebook is a good way for not only me but also every student to learn online.