Do good exam results at school or college guarantee success in life? Discuss. Do you believe that studying hard will bring a better life?

I do not believe that academic achievement equates with a successful life. Obtaining good grades at school is separate issue from making the most of your life. However, it is hard to see a person can have a rewarding career without a sound education and appropriate qualifications; for example, a degree.

Well-educated and well-qualified have more opportunities in the workplace and are more likely to find a well-paid job or be promoted. The result is often more job satisfaction and a better lifestyle compared with people who lack qualifications. On the downside, there can also be more responsibility and stress.

It is still possible to do well in life without good qualifications. Not everybody is academically inclined. Many successful people left school at an early age and went on to achieve great things, often in the world of business. What is clear, though, is that most people had to work hard to achieve success, so failure to do well at school is not a good sign if it means that you were lazy.

There is more to life than work and money, so it is important to strike an appropriate work-life balance. Too much time spent working can harm people’s social lives and relationships. Young people can lose out if they spend too much time studying rather than engaging in social activities and acquiring life skills.

I am not certain that by studying hard I will definitely improve my chances in life, but I am sure that I need to study if I am serious about wanting to improve myself. Good results in my examination alone will not bring success. I will have to make the most of my education and any opportunities that present themselves if I am to succeed.