In some cultures the parents arrange marriages for their children but in others people chose their own marriage partner.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of each system?

Building a happy family starts from making decision in choosing the best partner for your life. In several societies, parents have important roles in choosing the marriage partner of their children. However, others want to find their partner on their own. In this essay, I would like to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of both views.

First of all, in some cultures, parents have an obligation to fulfill all the needs of their children, including preparing their children marriage. In my opinion, this give some benefits for children life. Basically, parents know the characteristics of their children very well since the beginning of their life. Therefore, parents will be able to determine the best option for their children future. For example, parents can give a recommendation about taking the most suitable subject for academic study. On the other hand, not all children want to be driven by their parents in many aspects because they want to be more independent from their parents. When they have already been an adults, they tend to choose something based on their own interests. If parents force their children to follow their decision, it could lead to a disharmony in their family.

On the other hand, other people believe that choosing marriage partner is one of the biggest decision in their life. Love is the best foundation of a family and people have to choose their partners by following their hearts. In this condition, children will feel happier with their marriage and will not be disappointed on the lack of their partners because they accept them whatever the condition because of love. However, in particular situation, children sometimes are too busy with their career and do not have time to make a closed relationship. Moreover, they often forget to put marriage and having a family in their criteria of success while their parents want to have grand children before being too old.

To sum up, both views have some pros and cons that should be considered in choosing marriage partner. In my opinion, children should plan their marriage by themselves but they have to ask the recommendation of their parents to maintain the harmony of their family.