Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

People have different views about whether or not video games have positive effect on children. Although I accept that some educational games can cause to create useful skills, I believe that there are some drawbacks of them.

There are several reasons why I believe children can take benefits from video games. The first reason is that video games are usually produced by taking into account the age range of users. Children's games mainly target to teach them useful skills, such as learning the alphabet or calculating. For example, the game named "The Animal World" could instruct my six-year-old nephew how to calculate easily and quickly. As it has differently animated and numbered animals, not only children are interested in the games but also start analyzing the number of participated characters. The second reason, various puzzle games that require logical thinking are also responsible to shape problem-solving qualities in young users.

On the other hand, many people believe that computer games might influence children detrimentally. Firstly, with the attractive feature, video games hold children in front of a computer screen longer than recommended hours. It causes them to have less sleep, and they become passive at school lessons on the following day. Acquisition of subjects decreases as a result. Secondly, inactive video games lead children to have some obesity problems. Finally, as these games are solitary activities, children are isolated, and they become less sociable later.

In conclusion, in order to bring up decent citizens, parents should control children's spare time and guide them to have successful prospects in the future.