Doctors encourage older people to take regular exercise, but there are few of them taking enough physical exercise. What are the causes and what solutions should be taken to solve the problem?

Health has always been of great concern not only among young generations but also the elderly, especially in the era of industrialization. However, regardless of medical experts’ recommendation, many senior citizens refuse to form a habit of doing regular exercise. I believe this unhealthy lifestyle derives from various reasons, and actions need to be taken to encourage them to exercise more regularly.

That older generations are not taking enough exercise could be put down to their physical problems coming with age. Obviously, the older they are, the weaker they become, the more likely they suffer from age-related diseases such as joint degradation, diabetes, high blood pressure, etc. These health issues reduce their mobility and make exercise more challenging. Another explanation is family responsibility. Due to industrialization, many young parents are occupied with loads of work, meaning that grandparents have to take responsibility of taking care of their grandchildren and do household chores. As a consequence, they are too exhausted to engage in physical activities.

One way to tackle the problem is to introduce exercises that are tailored to their age groups. Such gentle exercises as taichi, yoga, or meditation would be optimal as they are less demanding and more suitable for the elderly. Along with this, facilities for them to work out should be more accessible in public areas such as parks, hospitals, and community centers. Additionally, young adults should have a work-life balance and share housework with their parents. Only by doing this can they have more time for self-care. Another feasible solution is to involve family members in exercising with their parents and grandparents. This will not only make them feel more secured when making movement and motivate them to keep fit, but it also bridges the gap between generations.

To conclude, few older people taking enough exercises derives from individuals’ poor health conditions and family duties. I believe that the collaboration of family, society, and the determination of older generations will make significant changes.