Doctors recommend that older people should exercise regularly. However, many of them do not exercise enough. What are the causes? What can be done to encourage them to exercise?

Encouraging regular exercise is essential for elderly/oldsters as suggested by doctor, while some of them face insufficient physical activities. This issue emerges several causes and considerable solutions, which I will elucidate in the following paragraphs.

Regarding the causes, negative age stereotypes related to exercise risks contributes to limit elderly from performing regular physical movement. Notably, a study of Oxford Academic found that many adults, despite high knowledge levels on health benefits, put strong beliefs about regular healthy movement as monotonous or tiring — leading to ignoring any advices, even from health advisor. Furthermore, this age group is vulnerable due to physical restrictions regarding noncommunicable diseases (NCDs). For instance, individuals with coronary heart disease is incapable of undergoing intense aerobic activities with loud and fast beat music which makes one’s cardiovascular performance abnormal and irregular.

Turning to the solutions, implementing healthy exercise promotion and practical guidance offer regular physical movement, where it becomes a low-cost alternative to disease treatment and prevention. The Medicare Current Beneficiary Survey found that medical spending receives the highest concern among old American societies. Moreover, fun and well-planned programs — Active Living Every Day by National Council on aging (NCOA) — keep seniors moving independently and prevent many aged medical illnesses. For example, Okinawa, Japan, not only stands as a country with high life expectancy rates, but also reach successful model of seamlessly incorporating health exercise programs into daily life.

In conclusion, the causes of poor engagement in strong healthy body, particularly in geriatric population stem from cultural and contextual factors as well as aging-related diseases Meanwhile, the effective solutions are establishing community fitness programs and providing free exercise routines.