Dogs are one of the most popular pets in the world, yet many would, yet many would say it is inappropriate to have them in built-up inner-city areas?

Do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, there is a trend to keep a pet or even several of them in a house and the most common pet is a dog. However, dog possession in highly urbanized areas is not easy. I personally believe that flats in blocks of flats are not the best place for a dog to live and in this essay I will support my opinion with examples.

Firstly, unfortunately, a lot of modern residential developments are being built without taking into account the necessity of places for dog walking. Thus, dog owners have to travel considerable distances to the place where it will be possible to let the pet off the leash in order to let it run and play with it.

Secondly, a dog which is kept in an apartment building may cause conflicts between its owner and neighbours. For example, many dog breeds cannot tolerate loneliness and they can howl for many hours in the absence of a master, so this situation can be uncomfortable for neighbours. Furthermore, some dogs have to relieve themselves in public places such as an elevator or an entryway, and their owners do not always want to clean after pets, which also does not contribute to comfortable cohabitation of neighbours.

In conclusion, despite the fact that dogs are very popular as a pet, keeping them in highly urbanized areas is a dubious initiative, in my opinion. This pets will not only feel discomfort from the lack of places where it would be possible to walk and play with the owner but will also become a source of concern to neighbours because of dogs’ physiological and behavioural characteristics.