Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer

Knowing the best methods for improving children’s skills and creativity is a critical decision for parents. Nowadays, it’s been said that engaging children with fun activities can have greater impact on a child’s skills as well as creativity than books. I strongly believe in this notion, and this essay will be used to prove this.

Firstly, doing fun physical activities would improve certain skills in a child in ways much better than books. This is because while doing physical exercise, a child’s motor reflexes as well as cognitive skills can be enhanced greatly more than through reading books. For example, a recent study conducted by Yale University stated that 95% of all high-school basketball athletes who had gained an athletic scholarship had played basketball since the age of 5. Therefore, doing physical activities is abundant for developing particular skills in children.

Secondly, children who don’t play video games might end up bested in skills and creativity by those who do. This is because computer games help advance their spatial and problem-solving skills and build up their creativity. For instance, in 2015, a census done by Journal of Cognitive Neuroscience found children who played video games about 1 hour per day for 5 years had an average IQ five points higher than their peers. Consequently, children with no video game experience may be overcome by those who do, regarding their skills and creativity.

To conclude from the examples and arguments given I firmly believe that though reading is a useful tool to make a child more creative and skilled, still enjoyable activities are more effective. In the future, more parents will use fun activities to improve their child’s mind.