Some people say that computers can translate languages, so children need not study foreign languages anymore.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, computers have developed enough to attain the ability to translate an immense number of languages. Due to this, some people believe that children no longer need to be taught any other language than their native. I believe such idea should be disregarded for a number of reasons that will be illustrated in this essay.

First of all, learning a new language has been proven to have a beneficial impact on the child’s brain development. An illustration to this, according to the Scientific American magazine, 80% of the children in the USA whose ages range between 7 to 11 years with the ability to speak more than one language had a higher IQ than those who spoke only one language.

Secondly, learning a new language has a positive cultural and social effect since this practice is always linked with learning the cultures, and ideas of the society that speaks that language, this in turn makes the child more accepting towards people with different social and cultural backgrounds. An example to this, a research done by The American Journal of Psychiatry found that bilingual children studying in elementary schools in America were significantly more social and culture-accepting towards children who come from foreign countries, compared to their peers who spoke only their native language.

From the above, we can conclude that in order to enhance the intelligence of our children, as well as make them more socially and culturally open and welcoming to children coming from different foreign backgrounds, teaching them foreign languages would be a vital part in such a process.