For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Experts throughout the developing and developed countries have debated whether teachers or parents have a stronger impact on the intelligence and social development of school children. This essay will discuss both sides using examples from the Journal of Cognitive Development and the UK government to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

On the one hand, there is ample evidence that parents strongly impact the development of a school child’s basic social and intellectual abilities. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly kids spend most of their time in the house with their parents, in consequence, a major part of their social skills are contributed to interacting only with their parents. Secondly, kids copy their parents’ way of critical thinking, since they see their parents as perfect examples for them to follow. For example, recent empirical research by the Journal of Cognitive Development demonstrated a strong positive correlation between school kids psychometric performance along with social skills and the academic background and sociability of their parents.Therefore, it is conclusively clear that parents play a key role in developing their child’s social and intellectual abilities.

However, although it is undeniable that parents contribute greatly to their children’s mental progression, teachers are the ones who can make school children excel in their intellectual and social capabilities. This is largely because of the high level of experience tutors have in this field, as they can use several methods to enrich and develop a child’s mind, such as using games which enhance problem solving behavior skills, and plan activities that require kids to work as team, in turn improving their social skills. For instance, an extensive study by the UK government showed that over 90% of the kids whom were homeschooled were 6 points lower in IQ than their peers and, furthermore, about 20% of the students demonstrated very low levels of social skills. Thus it is possible to say beyond doubt that tutors are extremely abundant for a child’s mental and social development.

From the arguments and examples given I firmly believe that parents have abundant contribution in developing a school child’s intellect and social ability, but even so, teachers overall impact still seems to be greater. It is predicted that teachers will have even more significant role in nurturing school children’s mental abilities in the future.