Some people think that schools have to be more entertaining, while others think that their sole purpose is to educate.

Which do you agree with?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

An often debated topic is whether increase entertainment in our schools or make them focused solely on education. In my opinion, having entertainment during school hours is better for the students than just focusing on educating them. This essay will analyse both points of view and use examples from schools that include amusement in their curriculum as well as those which don’t to demonstrate points and prove arguments.

Firstly, students attending schools which include entertainment programmes as part of the curriculum tend to perform academically higher than those in schools that don’t.This is because having fun through physical activities can mentally motivate students to excel in their studies. For example, students in Connery School, an establishment well known for including several fun activities in its curriculum, last year had an SAT average performance 100 marks above the mean SAT mark achieved by students in other schools in the US. Therefore, the contribution of fun activities on improving the academic performance is undeniable.

Secondly, the absence of fun programmes in schools has a negative effect on a student’s social skills. The reason is that during fun activities such as football and acting, students would socially interact with each other. For instance, according to the Ministry of Education of France, schools which included only few enjoyable tasks to non had concerning numbers of students who were categorised as introverted and socially inactive. Therefore, lack of amusement in schools negatively correlates with their students’ social skills.

To conclude, from the examples and arguments given I firmly agree that schools are ought to include fun activities. In the future, more schools will add entertainment programmes as part of their school-curriculum.