Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

The amount of superstores has been increasing dramatically lately which reduces the small-scale businesses’ competitive strength. An opinion exists that the small stores’ exit from the local marketplace is sure to impact devastatingly in the area’S scale and cause the death of local community. Although I believe the industry giants’ speedy expansion on local market is damaging, some people consider it as an encouragement for small firms to discover unique ways of attracting clients.

On one hand, the individual enterprises should perceive the commercial networks’ increasing in the presence on local market as a chance for developing their inimitable strategy allowing them to attract customers. Such a unique feature let the small factories retain their segment of market and obtain the competitiveness of the released product. Big companies are predominantly focused on manufacturing the mass consumer goods rated at the average buyer which could be regarded as the weakness because no individuality IS involved. For example, according to the Russian businessman German Sterligov, the extremely high price and completely natural products composition permit his company to compete favorably with trade houses. Thus, small organizations with the deliberate strategy are sure to enjoy the success among purchasers even on condition of the selling corporations’ broad presence.

On the other hand, large industries possess ample resources for capturing the market at the local scale depriving small stores of the clients which is the very reason for bankruptcy and shutdown. Local shops propose the limited line of goods at heavy price while large retail chains are ready to offer products for every social stratum at the eligible cost. Moreover, big companies are used to enrolling adverts for promoting their networks occupying the market and replacing the traditional local shops with their supermarkets. For instance, as per the TASS, today the small townS’ residents are more prone to buy from large companies leading to the small businesses’ decline in the observed area.

Hence, competing with popular corporations seems almost impossible for individual shops as the formers do not obtain the requisite resources.

To sum up, though in theory local community businesses do possess the possibility to keep the customers, the big supermarkets still dispose more resources for attracting buyers. In general, large companies offer high quality goods at a reasonable price.