Due to development and rapid expansion supermarkets in some countries, many small, local businesses are unable to compete. some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalization and industrialization have brought immense changes in the market. With the drastic increase in the number of hypermarkets all across western countries, some believe that small business owners are unable to match their prices and are shutting shops as a result. I, however, opine that this change has provided us with immense benefits which far outweigh the negative impacts. This essay will discuss the aforementioned topic along with examples and supporting arguments.

Clearly, the development of such shops and outlets has changed the buying experience for the customers, wherein, they are pampered with amazing choices and comfort, at the same time providing a better price as compared to the neighbourhood shops. Although this hampers the revenue of small businesses, it enriches the consumers with a plethora of buying options. For example, as per a recent study conducted by a major market researcher, big city hypermarkets, on an average store 10 times higher number of product options as compared to small retail stores with at least 20% reduction in prices. With significantly ample variants, consumers are hugely benefited from such development and change.

Besides, even a mall community of business owners who are not focused on retail can gain immensely from the said shift. In addition to their traditional business model, they can always team-up and collaborate with these big stores to display their product instead of treating them as competition. For instance, local manufacturers of cold-pressed oils who sell only to local customers can team-up and approach procurement executives of these chains to get their oils displayed and sold under a single brand name. If the quality product is provided, the marketing channel and growth opportunities provided by these big chains are vast.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree that local communities are dying out due to the rapid increase and development of branded supermarkets. Albeit smaller retail stores face stiff competition, a healthy competitive challenge should be always acknowledged with a positive sentiment and a zeal to get better at every front.