Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agr

These days, there is a vast increase in the setup of new and big supermarkets. Some people believe that such markets are providing great benefits in the development of the country, but I will argue that supermarkets are a big threat for the existence of small shops and markets.

Firstly, these markets have a big impact on the family of small business man. This is because such business families’ source of income solely depends on their business and they use it for their daily expenses, for child education. For instance, some vendors have stationary and confectionery shops, in the local communities, on which they are largely dependent to earn their income. If such shops get closed, it will hugely impact their daily life, child education and their health as well. Another point to consider is that there are some vendors who are not so educated and could not do other jobs if they lose their primary business. As an illustration, lot of such businesses passes from generation to generation, and most of the traders running shops do not have professional education. However, government should take initiative to provide them required education and training to acquire the demanded jobs in the market.

On the other hand, some people believe that such big markets have good advantages in comparison to single shops. They provide us a centered place for shopping, which is more comfortable and where we can buy any item from grocery to furniture. These shopping complexes give government huge fund and provide ample employment opportunities.

To conclude, although, these markets have advantages in terms of employment, new business opportunities, government funding but, in my opinion, local traders are under dangerous threat in running their businesses. Government should consider life of these local communities before opening huge markets.