Some people think that what children watch on television influences their behaviour. Others think that amount of time they spent watching television influences their behaviour. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that television greatly affects children. While some people think that the length of time they spend watching TV has a significant impact on them, I argue that it is the content of the program that has a great influence on child’s psychology.

On the one side, those who believe time given by children over TV has a major impact on their behaviour might argue that it contributes to child’s aggression and isolation from outside world. This is because they spent their precious time on watching TV rather than study, exercise and interacting with people. Therefore, it can make them feel exhausted and isolated. They will have less bonding with family members because of less interaction. As an illustration, if children watch TV late in night, they will feel sleepy next day and this can force them to act angrily towards their classmates.

On the other hand, my view is that explicit content such as violence, crime and sex influence children more. The reason for this is that they are immature and get manipulated by others easily. In addition, TV advertisements have great affect on them, and they could argue with their parents to buy unnecessary items. Moreover, if they are allowed to watch such serials or movies, influentially they might commit crime in the future. For example, famous TV series, Game of Thrones has too much violence and nudity in it and children below 18 years of age should not watch it.

In conclusion, though both two factors have their own implications, I believe that the content is more dangerous in comparison to how much time teenagers are spending over television.