Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 percent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. Do you agree?

These days, many countries are providing ample opportunities to women in order to encourage them to come forward and help in the economic development. Companies should plan to assign a portion of senior level positions for the women. I completely agree with this statement and this essay will support my view with examples.

Firstly, women have the essential characteristics which are required by these senior positions in the organizations. They can easily take more workload, stress as mandated for such posts, therefore, are equally capable of doing a good job as men. In addition, they are also superior in taking responsibility. For example, in many countries women are designated at higher levels in government sectors such as finance minister, foreign minister, where they are honestly and dedicatedly working. However, some people believe that top level posts require more aggression, strategy and managerial skills which can be found in men only.

Another point to consider is that women are outperforming men in many university courses. Nowadays, they are getting higher grades in most professional fields which were previously dominated by men. For instance, in higher education such as law and medicine, more females are coming out as toppers as compared to male students. Therefore, they should be rewarded with top roles at workplace. Despite this, employers should bear in mind that such roles should be handed out on merit, not gender alone.

In my opinion, women possess many characteristics in terms of responsibility, stress management, academic performance and these make them equally qualified for higher level jobs, therefore, definite amount of such roles should be reserved in order to give women equal opportunities.