Due to the development of the internet public libraries are no longer necessary To what extent do you agree or disagree

Owing to the fact that the internet has developed a lot, it is argued that the use of state-run libraries has become unnecessary anymore. Even though I partially agree with this idea, I believe that state-run libraries have just changed their intended use with the invention of the internet.

On the one hand, the development of the internet triggered the interest for e-books and hence, people started not to go to public libraries anymore. Unlike public libraries, it is utterly easy to reach information through one click on Google. Because of saving time and effort advantages, the internet has started to be preferred more than state-run libraries. For example, many academics are currently working at home on the computer while their counterparts in previous times used to spend the majority of their time in reading academic books in libraries.

However, it is unlikely to assert that public libraries are not needed anymore since plenty of libraries have just transformed into lecture rooms. Due to the fact that having a lecture room is also important, people have started to use public libraries for studying in lecture rooms. Even though easy access to information has been provided with the help of the internet, there are still plenty of people who suffer from finding a study room. For instance, visitors of Rotterdam Public Library in the Netherlands protested the school administration because of reducing capacity plans for the university library but their demands were only based on increasing capacity for lecture rooms, instead of books.

In conclusion, unlike previous times, public libraries are not regarded as crucial because of technological developments. Even though this argument is partially correct, it is unlikely that public libraries are going to be removed, instead one could comment that the logic of libraries has been transforming since the development of the internet.