Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent technological developments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, some people argue that previous technological developments were more advantageous and made more significant changes to human’s daily life than those in the present days. In my opinion, disagree with this viewpoint and will present my reasons in this essay.

To commence with, contemporary technology makes a dramatic difference to the way people communicate. In the past, people had no other methods of contact but sending letters, which often took long time for these letters to reach the receivers. Today, we have more than one means of communication such as mobile phones computers with Wi-Fi connection and various social media platforms. They all enable people to easily stay in touch with each other within seconds by texting, emailing or even making a video call regardless of the geographical distances.

In addition, recent technological advances also benefit people and create huge changes in terms of medical area. Few years ago, people might have limited cure for some lethal diseases and even little control over pandemic diseases because there was a shortage of technological supports. Nowadays, thanks to laboratories and research centers being fully equipped with advance technologies, scientists are able to quickly discover the origin of diseases and thus creating new medicines to alleviate them. For example, in the current outbreak of Covid-19 pandemic which has caused thousands of deaths all over the world, researchers have successfully created some types of vaccines such as mRNA and Pfizer to help protect the uninfected from the effects of coronavirus. This is such a medical breakthrough that changes human’s life during the pandemic due to the help of recent technology.

To conclude, personally believe that contemporary developments of technology bring more beneficial changes to people’s lives, typically in terms of communication and medicine.