Financial education should be a mandatory component of the school program. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, there has been a heated argument regarding whether a school’s curriculum should include financial education as a compulsory subject. In my opinion, I totally agree with this viewpoint for following reasons.

To commence with, it is necessary for students to gain basic knowledge about finance from an early age to avoid stress related to financial issues. It is due to the fact that financial lessons include teaching students about the importance of an emergency fund for unexpected situations in their life. As a result, they may build a positive habit of saving money for emergency cases such as having medical problems or coping with expenses incurred. Moreover, learning about finance helps reduce the risks of becoming a victim of fraud. A basic level of financial understanding may help prevent students from being taken in by tactics which sometimes results in themselves spending years paying off heavy debts.

In addition, being armed with financial knowledge and skills contributes to a healthier life for students in the future. To be specific, financial lessons help boost students’ independence and responsibility. If students have a budget that they actively manage, it forces them to look at their spending to know how much they have available and thus, making better financial decisions. Furthermore, being well-versed in finance enables students to rationally step further towards investments into securities market or real estates to make profit.

To conclude, financial education is undeniably beneficial for students in terms of minimizing daily financial pressure and bringing more potential future for young adults. Therefore, I strongly believe that this subject should be added to the schools’ curriculum.