Medical services should be run by profit-making companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, whether healthcare services should be managed by profit-oriented enterprises or not is up to debate. While I agree that this approach may help relieve the burden of overwhelming conditions on hospitals, I still believe that it will place another pressure on people who are living in porverty.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that when healthcare services are totally subsidied by the government, the public will be overdependent on their right of being taken care of. To be specific, as people can receive healthcare free of charge, they may have a tendency to rush to local hospitals to take a medical check-up and medication even with minor injuries. This may result in an overloading condition in hospitals and clinics, where lines of people are waiting, causing doctors to be exhausted and demotivated from their job. As a consequence, there may be a serious shortage of medical workforce, posing a serious threat for both healthcare centers and the government.

On the other hand, I believe that allowing profit-making firms to practice medical services will cause disadvantages for poor residents. It is because when companies provide healthcare for money, they need to compete with others for reputation in order to attract people’s reliance by employing qualified and experienced doctors and experts. As a result, they have to spend more money paying these employees the amount of salary that they deserve, entailing an increase in the fee for such services as medical examinations, prescriptions and health-related consultants. Therefore, underprivileged people are likely to suffer from long-term health problems and even life-risking diseases just because they cannot afford to pay for prohibitive bills in the hospitals.

To conclude, while healthcare services being run for free may cause pressure on people working in medical sections, I still believe that poor people’s advantages will be ignored if healthcare is provided by companies aiming at making profit.