Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s modern world, people are giving more concern about the ecosystem, and protecting the environment is the duty of the authorities. While it is true that individuals can not contribute significantly to protecting the nature, I argue that both governments and citizens should be responsible for this.

To commence with, local and national authorities should take serious actions in saving the environment. In particular, they should enforce strict green regulations for their dwellers to follow since not everyone is conscious about this pressing issue. Singapore, for example, has implement rules such as no gum on the subway or do not throw trashes on the streets. Thanks to such regulations, Singapore could be counted as one of the cleanest urban area in the world because not only the local people in the region, but also visitors from abroad have to follow the rules if they do not want to get punished by the laws.

Furthermore, it is also the responsibility of the citizens themselves to protect their living environment. Firstly, they could decrease pollution in the surrounding area by using less plastic products and try to recycle or reuse when possible. Takeaway drinks, for instance, instead of using paper or plastic cups, customers could bring their own cups, which could be in metal or glass. Secondly, people living in urban areas should use public transports or bikes more often instead of driving petrol-based vehicles. This is because those transportations could contribute significantly to the amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere, which has detrimental impacts on human health, namely lung cancer or lung diseases.

In conclusion, as protecting the environment has become one of the pressing issues these days, the responsible is of authorities as well as individuals. Together, they could rebuild a green world, where the wildlife is safe and the air is fresh.