Essay 5: Some people say that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be used for their future careers. Other people say that subjects such as music and sports are also necessary. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The importance of non-academic subjects has always been a topic of controversy. While some people consider focusing on teaching the academic subjects related to the future job in school as an effective strategy, others believe that it is also vital for students to learn music and sport. In this essay, I will elaborate on these two viewpoints and give the reason why I suppose it is beneficial for schools to teach both academic and non-academic subjects.

On one hand, academic subjects are crucial because they are strongly linked to numerous beneficial outcomes. First, while studying academic subjects like Maths or Physics, students have to solve many logical problems, which results in developing logical problem-solving skill. This skill helps them to tackle many day-to-day problems logically in real life. Secondly, students who study academic subjects are equipped necessary knowledge to pass the entrance exams and obtain qualifications. Therefore, disciplines can also promote their job prospects since recruiters know that students have the fundamental knowledge to adapt to the diversity of career requirements.

On the other hand, young people can benefit greatly from sports and performing arts. They bring up for youngsters the chance to remove tensions resulting from their physical and mental needs. For instance, when students participate in athletic activities, socialize and communicate in a healthy way, their feelings and thoughts can be driven in positive directions. In addition, many students have hidden talents in non-academic fields like art or sports so if schools remove those kinds of subjects like music or PE, these strengths can go undetected. For that reason, schools should also concentrate on non-academic lessons so that young talents can be spotted and nurtured to achieve their full potential.

In conclusion, academic and non-academic subjects are equally important, and I am completely in favor of devoting equal attention to both types of subjects.