Every day, millions of tons of food are wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

In today’s modern society, the rapid development of many countries leads to raised living standards where people have more than enough on their basic needs such as food. It is said that there is a huge amount of food wasted in our daily life which is detrimental to the environment and needs to be the center of people’s concentration. While a numerous of reasons cause this argument, I believe there are also many ways to alleviate this issue.

On one hand, it is not redundant to mention about our past life, our ancient past has gone through many tough conditions, war and starvation for example, because of that they have a strong insight of the importance of food which is strongly needed for survival. However, when the wars were over and gave space for peace, people nowadays do not experience starvation and have the freedom to choose what to eat, when to eat, and the amount that leads to the value of food decreased dramatically. Moreover, children learn from their parents, the education of appreciating what we eat becomes unnecessary for the younger generation. For example, from my childhood, my aunty told me to just leave the food if I couldn’t absorb it so that I was impacted deeply and created the habit of leaving food on waste. Through the example, the major explanation for this phenomenon would be the wrong lesson that parents teach their kids.

As unacceptable as it is, fortunately there are also schools of solution which enhance the young generations' insight, investing in influencers and regulating restaurants is going to be the most considerable. Firstly, young people can be seen as our future and we depend on their actions. The government should investigate finances on reintroducing the value of food in school classes, the history of starvation and unlock their awareness of what will cost as the consequence if food is continuing to be thrown away, by developing their knowledge that means our next couple of years would be potentially improved. Furthermore, the government should be concerned about consuming wealth as an investment on influencers. The technology developed with the invention of social media, where people are vulnerable to being affected by the populars people, especially teenagers, due to that reason as well as using their images as an encouragement to motivate viewers from preventing food wasting. Last but not least, restaurants cost more money from customers based on their food wasted as the punishment to regulate people to order enough and encourage them to bring it home instead of throwing it away.

In summary, there are plenty of justifications for people wasting food, but luckily there are also a number of ways to relieve the situation.