Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is claimed that the phenomenon of languages vanishing each year is not a serious issue as many believe that life becomes less difficult thanks to this disappearance. This essay totally disagrees with this view for the following reasons.

To begin with, the diversity of languages enhances human’s ability to obtain an understanding of a variety of nations. Specifically, languages are closely associated with cultures and traditions, which makes them a powerful tool for those with an aspiration to explore the history of certain countries. For instance, the national language of Vietnam was invented based on the Latin alphabet by Western priests when they came to Vietnam for missionary work in the 17th century, which has then become widely used since the colonization of the French in the early 1900s. Therefore, conducting research on Vietnamese as a language helps to pave the way for the acquisition of profound comprehension of this nation’s past events and their impacts on today's lives. Broadly, the maintenance of uncommon languages allows one to gain access to the knowledge of the related civilizations more easily.

In addition, the protection of all existing languages is important because coming along with it is the preservation of scientific and artistic works. In more detail, languages are investigated and analyzed to develop and conserve invaluable accomplishments from the old days until now. A prime example of this is the continuous study of linguistics masters on “Nom’’, which is the first official language of Vietnam that has been considered a dead language since 1945, to recover the ancient literature compositions and preserve them for research or publishing. Therefore, it would be of tremendous problem for humans to maintain the achievements inherited from the previous generations should they decide to let languages die out.

In conclusion, life would certainly become more challenging with fewer languages. Not only does the loss of languages create a barrier preventing humans from the attainment of knowledge, but it also affects negatively the conservation of excellent written works.