Every year several languages die out. Some people think that this is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Recently, the phenomenon of endangered languages all around the world and its corresponding impacts have sparked massive debates. In this regard, although a number of individuals incline the disappearing some languages in not a significant matter, others are of the opinion that language extinction may cause enormous issues. In my view, elimination of languages in terms of communications and constructing a worldwide community can lead to advantages, however we shouldn’t lose sight of naysayers’ beliefs.

Obviously, by extinction of less important languages in regard to how many people are speaking on these languages, the total number of languages experience a dramatic decrease. Consequently, more and more people around the four corners of the world have the opportunity to speak a few languages. As a result, this phenomenon leads to remarkable communication benefits which the most important of these benefits is the ability to communicate easily. In addition, prevailing fewer languages on the relationship between nations can prevent a lot of misunderstandings within all aspects, for example contracts and negotiations.

Moreover, cultures, traditions, and lifestyle of countries will be more similar together due to language eliminations. Numerous scientists believe that languages are rooted in cultures and historical beliefs. Hence, if all people who living worldwide speak a few languages, particularly one or two languages, it is likely to develop a single worldwide community. That is a world similar to a village, according to an outstanding scientist’s claim about relationships which was the term “global village”.

On the other hands, loads of people concern about languages and of the opinion that the have to pave the ways to preserve languages. Languages are representatives of nations’ history. Thus, by preserving languages, they believe that the futures have the opportunity to be accustomed with their history. As a tangible example, surveys show a close relationship between languages and cultures, and dying a language end up to death of a nation on the long-term.

To sum up, despite compelling arguments on both sides, I opt to support the idea that the merits of language extinction far outweigh its downsides. Eventually, will the English become the only speaking language in the not far distant future?