Explain some of the ways in which humans are damaging the environment. What can governments do to address these problems? What can individual people do?

Despite the progress of the world, issues concerning the environment have been insurmountable problems that are considered worldwide catastrophes due to the natural damage caused by humans. There are easily identified reasons, but the major cause is related to industrial development. From my viewpoint, both governmental and local authorities play an integral role in tackling this problem.

The increasing world population is putting great pressure on the environment, which leads to three major factors of environmental damage. First and foremost, the demand for using raw materials by mineral extraction has resulted in the depletion of natural supplies. Let’s take Russia and the US as examples, as they both have to deal with the serious problem of the shortage of fuels such as coal and oil for their daily lives. Secondly, industrial businesses have had negative employer environmental impacts for some time. To be more specific, employers desire to manufacture various products without any environmentally friendly process, so a wide range of smoke is emitted into the air that causes greenhouse glass and global warming. Last but not least, individuals at present time are suffering from poisonous food because of polluting activities which also affect millions of species and their habit.

As a result, the authorities at all level- social, national and international governments need to go seeking to prevent the environment degradation. Firstly, strict policies should be introduced to limit emissions from factories. Moreover, it is essential to impose an official ban on illegal industries such as deforestation, dumping toxic waste, etc. International bodies have to give a hand to alleviate an issue by raising individual's awareness. Besides, although people just play a part of the solution, they also try to change their way of consumption by using fewer packaged products and recycling them as well. Finally, protecting the environment is a long-term project that requires the prevalence of humans.

In conclusion, environmental pollution is an ongoing issue which may threaten the safety of our society. Therefore, all individuals must be held accountable for avoiding ecological crisis, particularly governments, who alone have the power to enforce laws to protect our precious environment. Unless the problem is solved, we will face to the worst living conditions so far.